Sat. Jun 15th, 2024

Strong list of PGA Tour, LIV golfers will attempt to qualify Monday for 2024 U.S. Open at Bear’s Club

By admin May30,2024

The Bear’s Club in Jupiter, Florida, will host an impressive field of LIV and PGA Tour golfers Monday attempting to qualify for the U.S. Open on what is dubbed “Golf’s Longest Day.”

More than 70 golfers are hoping to capture one of three or four spots available for the season’s third major championship at Pinehurst, North Carolina. Of those, nine are from the Saudi-backed LIV Golf League and three are locals who have combined for 18 PGA Tour wins.

Joaquin Niemann, who leads LIV’s individual standings, heads the list of golfers from Greg Norman’s league. Niemann earned invites to the Masters and PGA Championship, where he finished tied for 22nd and tied for 39th, respectively.

Niemann is joined by fellow LIV golfers, Dean Bermester, Branden Grace, Anirban Lahiri, Graeme McDowell, Mito Pereira, Charl Schwartzel, Cameron Tringale and Peter Uihlein. All but McDowell live in Palm Beach County.

Former world No. 1 Luke Donald will be in the field attempting to play in his 15th U.S. Open. Donald, the 46-year-old Englishman who lives in Jupiter, captained the European Ryder Cup team to a victory over the U.S. last year in Rome. He was named captain for the 2025 Ryder Cup at Bethpage Black in New York.

Donald will be joined by Daniel Berger and Matt Kuchar. The three have combined for 18 PGA Tour titles.

The Bear’s Club is one of 10 sites to hold final qualifying Monday, nine in the U.S. and one in Canada. The 36-hole qualifiers come on what is known as ‘Golf’s Longest Day.’ The qualifier at The Bear’s Club is not open to the public.

The U.S. Open is June 13-16 at Pinehurst No. 2.

LIV currently has 10 golfers in the U.S. Open field, including Eugenio Chacarra, who will make his major championship debut after being one of 11 to qualify May 20 at Dallas Athletic Club.

Those who are exempt include: Bryson DeChambeau, Tyrrell Hatton, Dustin Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Brooks Koepka, Adrian Meronk, Phil Mickelson, Jon Rahm, Cameron Smith.


By admin

Related Post